top of page

Latest Articles 

Search
  • Writer's pictureThinking Out Loud

Understanding Mindfulness

Updated: May 21, 2018

Mindfulness can be a hard thing to understand fully, but once you understand the concept of it, it can become one of the most important things in your life.

Mindfulness is a form of self-awareness that some describe as a state of being present in the moment and accepting things for what they are, without any form of judgment. This practice was originally taken from Buddhist meditation, but has been adapted for use in the treatment of depression and assisting mood regulation.



" Mindfulness is a way of befriending ourselves and our experiences. " - Jon Kabat-Zinn


The Essence of Mindfulness

When you become mindful, you become relaxed with your inner self and you are freed from being constantly affected by all your mental activity. Your daily judgements about the world and everything that revolves around it will finally stop. You constantly are consciously evaluating your thoughts and feelings. The moment you become aware and conscious, you are living in the moment instead of being on "autopilot". It may feel like you are creating much space from yourself, but with time and practice it can open a whole new dimension of freedom, relaxation, and stillness.


My Story

I may only be 17, but there is much that I have gone through in my life. With being a senior, I have to apply for college and scholarships, sign up for the SAT and ACT, and I have to start saving up money. This alone can cause much stress to an individual, it caused much stress to me. That is when I found mindfulness. It took awhile to be able to fully understand what it can do, but once I did, it changed my life. Two of my mindfulness skills that I use are journaling and taking music breaks. Music has helped me to focus more on what I am doing while journaling helps me escape from reality. Mindfulness skills sounded quite fake to me when I first heard of it, but after I started, it completely changed my life.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page